In 1929, two Albanian Orthodox bishops were consecrated by Bp. John Bessarion and a Serbian bishop. Thus, a synod of bishops was formed in Tirana and the church repeated its declaration of autocephaly. On April 12, 1937, the Ecumenical Patriarch recognized the autocephalous status of the Albanian church.

Metropolitan Theophan (Fan) S. Noli Bishop of Korca and Metropolitan of Durres Archimandrite  November 21, 1923 established Albanian-speaking Orthodoxy in the United States and in 1923 founded the Orthodox Church of Albania after Albania gained its independence following the end of World War I. He additionally served as prime minister of Albania.

Metropolitan Visarion Xhuvani (20 February 1929-26 May 1936)
Archbishop Christopher of Albania (12 April 1937-25 August 1949)
Archbishop Paisi (25 August 1949-4 March 1966)
Archbishop Damian (April 1966-13 November 1967)
Archbishop Anastasios of Tirana, Durr√ęs and All Albania (2 August 1992-